Get the right information straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our newsletter

Can People See What You Search On Twitter?

No, people cannot see what you search on Twitter. Your search history is private, no one else can access it. Someone can only view your search history if you have given them your account credentials. 

Other people can see your tweets, retweets, mentions, media, and replies. They can also see the various lists you’ve created (unless the list is private). 

People can also see your followers and users who you follow. But by no means, they can view your search history. Only Twitter has access to that data. 

Unlike LinkedIn where a user gets notified if someone views their profile, Twitter does notify its users. You can never come to know if someone has visited your profile until they engage with your content by liking, re-tweeting, or commenting on it. 

Does Twitter Keep My Search History?

Yes, Twitter keeps all your search history data to itself.

It collects this data to understand your content preferences. Twitter’s algorithm will use this data to suggest content that is related to your search history. 

Not only content but Twitter’s algorithm will also use this data to show advertisements that are related to your search queries. 

This data helps Twitter with its targeted advertisement campaigns. Please note that more than 80% of Twitter’s revenue comes from these targeted advertisements. 

If you do not want Twitter to collect your data, you just need to make some changes in your account settings and it will stop collecting your data.

How To Clear Twitter Search History

You can do this by following the steps below:

Step 1: Open the Twitter app on your phone.

Step 2: Click on the Search box which is present in the top right centre of your screen.

Step 3: Click on the trash icon from a search query you want to delete

Step 4: Tap on the Delete saved search and give your final confirmation to delete that search query. 

Clearing Twitter is a good idea if you want Twitter’s algorithm to stop suggesting content around your Twitter history. 

However, please note that by clearing history you are not stopping Twitter from collecting your data. But through this, you will be able to remove all your search data including the one from Twitter’s advanced search. 

Here’s how can stop Twitter from collecting your data:

You can do this by following the steps below:

Step 1: Open the Twitter app and go to the Personalization Page. 

Step 2: Switch off the toggle switch for Personalization Data

Step 3: Next, tap on save changes

By following these three steps, Twitter will stop collecting your data. 

What Can Others See On Your Twitter Profile

If you have a public Twitter account, other users (including your followers) can see all the tweets you have posted. 

They can also see your retweets,  comments, tweets you have liked before, etc. They can also see who you are following and your follower list. Also, if you enable the direct message option, anyone on Twitter will be able to directly message you and start a conversation. 

If you have a private account, only your Twitter followers can see your tweets, retweets, likes, and comments. Other Twitter users will not be able to see anything. 

How To Make Your Twitter Profile Private?

If you have a Twitter account, you can choose whether to either keep your account public or private. The setting through which you can make your account private is called Protect Your Tweets. 

If you switch on this setting, if someone wants to follow you, there will be an option for you to accept or deny their request. No one other than your set of selected followers will be able to see your tweets. 

Using a PC to make your Twitter account private:

Step 1: Log in to your Twitter account through any browser. 

Step 2: Click on the Notifications tab present on the top-left side of the screen.  

Step 3: Go to Privacy and safety. A list of available settings will appear. 

Step 4: Select Protect your Tweets and enable it.

Step 5: A pop-up confirmation window will appear, confirm it and your Twitter account will be private now. 

If you’re using a mobile to make your Twitter account private:

Step 1: Open the Twitter app on your Android/iOS device.

Step 2: Click on the gear icon that is present at the top of your screen. 

Step 3: Tap on  Privacy and safety from the drop-down menu which is present next to your username.

Step 4: Turn on the toggle for Protect your Tweet and now your Twitter account is private. 

How To Remove Someone On Twitter From Your Follower’s List?

It is pertinent to note that your existing followers will still be able to see your tweets even when you have enabled the feature of protecting your tweets. Only if a new user wants to follow you, it will give you the option to accept or deny their request. 

However, you can always delete users from your Followers list to whom you do not want to show your tweets. 

Here are 4 easy steps to follow to remove someone from your Followers list:

Please note, you cannot remove your followers through the Twitter app. You can only remove followers by opening your Twitter account on any browser. 

Step 1: Go to https://www.twitter.com and log into your account.

Step 2: Go to your Twitter profile and tap on the number of your followers which is present just at the top of your screen.

Step 3: Go through your list of followers. If you come across a user who you wish to remove, click on the three dots next to their username.

Step 4: Select Remove this follower and the user will be removed from your follower’s list. 

Shaurya Jain
Shaurya Jain

Shaurya jain is a blogger at Attention always. He is an expert in social media marketing & PR. He keeps experimenting with Snapchat, Instagram, YouTube and other social media platforms to stay up to date. When he is not writing, you can find watching reruns of Brooklyn 99.

Articles: 70