What does clearing cache do on TikTok

What does clearing cache do on TikTok

Have you ever seen the “clear cache” option on your phone and on the TikTok app and wondered what it does? The blog, today, is dedicated to dissecting the “clean cache” conundrum and addressing all of your concerns surrounding it!

What Is Cache On TikTok?

Here’s the thing about cache: they’re actually just a collection of temporary data.

When you visit a page, your browser saves a copy of that page in your cache. That way, the next time you come back to that same page, it will load faster because it doesn’t have to download everything again — it already has the parts it needs already stored in memory.

It’s the same with the TikTok app, when you search for something on TikTok, the app saves some information in the cache so that the next time you conduct the same search, it can quickly access the results.

What Does Clearing Cache Do On TikTok?

When you clear the cache on TikTok, you will be removing and deleting any superfluous temporary files from the app, which will also help you in making more room on your device.

What exactly does each of these TikTok cache files include? Well, these cache files simply contain the information that was preloaded for your profile as well as your watch history. As a result, it does not really make a difference whether you keep it or delete it from the app if you use it.

The question “Will my TikTok draft get deleted if I clean the cache?” is by far the most prevalent one that users have — well, the answer is a resounding no in this case. You don’t need to be concerned about losing any crucial information that your app stores!

How To Clear Cache On TikTok?

Now that we’ve covered the background information on the TikTok cache, let’s get down to the nitty-gritty of clearing it.

There are 2 simple ways to do it: either directly from the Phone’s settings or from the TikTok app.

#1 — Clearing TikTok app cache directly from app:

Step #1

Login to your TikTok account and tap on the TikTok Profile icon in the bottom right of your screen.

Step #2

Next, tap on the hamburger button (3-line icon) on the top right of your screen.

Step #3

Now, head on to the app settings through the Setting and Privacy option.

Step #4

Lastly, tap on the Clear Cache button and get rid of those temporary files!

Source: TikTok

#2 — Clearing cache directly from your phone’s settings:

Well, if you are a Samsung user or an iPhone user, the way you clear your TikTok cache differs a little.

#1 — iOS device:

Step #1

Head on to your iPhone storage.

Step #2

Search TikTok App and tap on it.

Step #3

Lastly, tap on Offload App.

#2 — Android device/Android phone:

Step #1

Head on to your Phone Settings menu and tap on App.

Step #2

Next, use the search button and locate the TikTok app.

Step #3

Lastly, tap on Storage and then tap on Clear Cache!

FAQs

Q1. Will Clearing Cache Delete Anything?

Deleting the app cache will not remove any saved app data or documents you have downloaded. You can just clear the app’s cache and continue using the app within a few seconds without even having to type in credentials once again.

Cached data is not crucial because it is simply meant to be short-term storage — which exists to enhance the user experience (like website data). Therefore, if you clear your cached files, the same site will not load any faster the next time you visit, but will instead take its time to load the content onto your screen.

Q2. What’s The Difference Between Clear Cache and Clear Data?

The term “clear cache” refers to the process of removing temporary files that have been stored in the memory of the device. These files include profile information and your watch history.

Whereas if you “clear data”, all of your saved information is deleted from your device’s storage. By doing so, your app will revert to its factory settings or initial configuration, just as it was upon installation. It has the same impact as uninstalling and reinstalling it.

Q3. What Takes Up Storage On TikTok?

TikTok drafts are the primary and largest space hogs.

TikTok users can save videos as drafts which with time accumulate into hundreds of videos that take up space on their devices. It is always advisable to go through these videos, review them and delete the ones that are unnecessary to free up space.

The app’s cache files also consume a significant amount of storage space. These are the files that the software automatically saves in the memory to speed up page loads when you revisit them; nevertheless, if they are not frequently cleaned, they can take up a lot of space.

Q4. How Do I Free Up Storage On TikTok?

On TikTok, there are three things you can do to free up storage:

#1 — Clear Cache directly manually from the phone’s settings or from the app directly

#2 — Delete the TikTok video drafts saved in the TikTok app

#3 — Uninstall or Delete App and then reinstall the app to revert TikTok to its factory settings or initial configuration

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Malcare WordPress Security